In which I am a risk-taker and survive

We went to see the Star Trek movie last night. When my husband was buying the tickets, the ticket-seller said something I couldn’t hear, and then my husband said, “Yeah, I guess that’s okay.” “What’s okay?” I asked as we started inside. “We have to sit in the first three rows,” he said.

No! That’s not okay! My neck! My eyes! I’m going to get a migraine!

But I didn’t say any of that, because he was being so nice taking me to see Star Trek, and I am tired of being a wet washcloth 100% of the time. (I think of myself as a wet washcloth rather than a wet blanket because a wet washcloth is what I used to have on my forehead while lying on the couch with a migraine when I was a little kid. If I had a coat of arms I guess it would have to contain a wet washcloth.)

So my daughter and I went to get seats while my husband got popcorn. We ended up in the middle of the second row. A woman about my own age sat down beside me and said “This looks like the headache row.” “I hope not!” I replied, pretending to be unconcerned.

(A tangent–don’t you think migraineurs should have a secret signal so we could recognize each other in public and provide quiet, unobtrusive support in times of need?)

So anyway I just thought good thoughts and gradually managed to adjust the angle of my head and my vision (sometimes it felt better to close one eye, and during the previews when everything was flashing around so fast I just closed both of them,) so that I wasn’t very uncomfortable, and quit worrying and had a great time. What a fun movie! And sitting so close, I felt like I was inside the screen. Woo hoo! I love Star Trek.

And when I got home my neck was a little stiff and I had some pain around one of my eyes, so I took a couple of aspirin before bed and put some ice on my neck and woke up feeling fine. Aah, the good life.

Explore posts in the same categories: migraine, migraine life

Leave a Reply

