Kind of gloomy

I usually work Saturdays, but today I am taking a vacation day. So it is cold and rainy and I have a migraine.

My new schedule at work includes a lot more driving, and my favorite little library that I used to work in 3 days a week is now only open 1 day. Honestly, how can anything be successful if it’s only open 1 day a week? Is that the secret plan, wait until people give up and stop coming and then use it as an excuse to shut the library down completely?

My supervisor and I now handle three library branches alone. Since she still has a little money left for substitutes, we are taking alternate Saturdays off because she is afraid we are going to crack under the pressure. This is only until July 1, when things will probably get worse.

Since we were already short-staffed and under-funded, I haven’t had a whole seven days off in a row since last July, when I had sinus surgery. (That was a fun vacation!) I kind of feel like I’m cracking up right now. I suppose that’s due to the migraine, though. And the weather.

I already went through this 20 years ago, when nobody in charge learned any lessons and here we are in the exact same place again.

Then there’s my insurance company/doctor’s office/Amerge situation, which I tried to take care of two months ago when the insurance company first sent me the letter telling me it would no longer pay for the Amerge after April 1. But no, the doctor’s office didn’t want to be bothered and said I had to start the process through my pharmacy, and my pharmacy said they couldn’t do anything until after April 1 and thirty days after the prescription was last filled (only 8 triptans every 30 days, regardless).

So the pharm. did their part on Monday. Then the doctor’s office called on Thursday and said they didn’t have any record of what other migraine medicines I’d tried. They didn’t have any record? Why not? Were they lost in a fire? They just don’t bother to keep records? So I told them what they needed to know and they said they would call back that afternoon but of course I haven’t heard from them.

But if I get laid off in the next round of budget-cuts, it won’t matter anyway. I won’t have any insurance, but also, I could just have a migraine and lay in bed in the dark and not worry about my job.

Explore posts in the same categories: migraine, prescriptions

Leave a Reply

