chilled

Yesterday I felt colder and colder and gloomier and gloomier. Then it was time to do the grocery shopping. The heater in one of our cars quit working two days ago and I drove through the 38 degree rain with the defroster blasting icy air at my head. If I turned it off the windows fogged up. I had a scarf around my neck and the hood of my jacket pulled up, but my ears started to hurt. Maybe I will actually develop mastoiditis by the time the ENT gets around to seeing me, wouldn’t that be handy?

When I got to the market I parked as close to the door as possible. I don’t usually do this, because I like walking and I figure the aged and infirm should have the spaces nearest to the door. But I was in a very bad mood and didn’t care about the aged and infirm anymore. I did my shopping, pushed the cart through the icy wet wind, unloaded the groceries, and then noticed that a car appeared to be waiting for my parking place. I walked the cart back to the front of the store, walked back to my car–the other car was still waiting. I got in my car and turned it on, turned the icy defroster on, and noticed that the car parked to the left of me was pulling out.

Good, I thought. The waiting car can have that spot. I started looking for something to wipe my glasses off with so I would be able to see to drive. But no, the empty space was one space farther from the door than my space. The waiting car started honking.

I really wish I’d gotten out of my car, walked through the rain to the honking car, and asked them what their problem was. Maybe they actually did have a problem. I think it was probably a mental problem. It could have been an interesting story. Instead, I thought about a study I’d read that concluded that people who have a parking space take their own sweet time vacating it if they know someone else is waiting for it. What if the driver with the mental problem had read the same study? I didn’t want them to think I was that kind of person, so I wiped my glasses on my scarf and drove off.

This is what comes from too much reading.

I went home and made soup, but I couldn’t bear to eat any of it. Then my teeth started chattering and I finally figured it out. I was sick. My stomach and my head hurt. I ached all over and I had chills. It was never the weather, it was me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

