endless summer

When I was a teenager I saw the surfing documentary Endless Summer, and decided that it would be a good idea to get rich and then follow the summer around the globe so I could always be warm. At that time I was living in a mild sunny climate, but apparently that wasn’t good enough for me. I needed to be warmer.

And I am warmer, in the summer, when it’s not too unusual for the temp. to pass 110 degrees. But I pay for it all winter, with rain, fog, and frost. (I know this sounds wimpy to people who live in the snow, but oh, the horror!)

What happened to my plan? Inconceivable as it may sound, I never got rich! Working in tiny rural libraries is apparently not the road to wealth. But I did get cookies and mandarins from nice library patrons this week. Mandarins are a lot like sunshine. And after today daylight starts increasing. Maybe I’ll survive.

Explore posts in the same categories: rambling on about nothing, road to wealth, wishful thinking

Leave a Reply

