Sick again

It was meeting time again last night and I sat there trying to keep my teeth from chattering. It wasn’t cold in the building, I had chills. I don’t know if I have a bad cold, a light flu, or a new sinus infection. As soon as my supervisor showed up (halfway through the meeting) I shoved a bag full of books and craft materials into her hands, told her it was the next day’s storytime, and said I was leaving. She said, But I have your evaluation, we were going to go over it after the meeting. I didn’t much care.

It’s hard being sick at that library branch, because I’m the only employee there most of the time and I get no official breaks or lunch, just work eight hours straight through. This is okay according to our “contract,” and it’s really okay with me because it’s a peaceful little branch and I can eat my cheese and crackers and drink my tea at my desk during quiet periods, but when I don’t feel well it would be so great to just lie down for a minute or go out and get a bowl of soup.

So I am not at work today and I am glad. The dog is going crazy, however, because no one is walking him and he can’t go in the back yard because of the slowly emerging new grass.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Sick again”

  1. deborah Says:

    I hope you feel well soon. If you were neaarby, I’d make you some soup, or at least get you some of this great wonton soup from a rest. that I swear by here. It does have some incredible healing properties.

  2. glass pineapple Says:

    Thanks for the nice sentiments. My husband bought me a can of soup but I think he accidentally got the kind without healing properties.


Leave a Reply

