If I get well will the whining stop?

I am on my 4th antibiotic since my sinus surgery (7 1/2 weeks ago.) The newest one is Levaquin, which I started on Thursday evening. The next day I had to drive 40 miles to work and try to do a fun storytime in spite of not being able to breathe, being in excruciating pain (as a migraine sufferer, I believe that I am qualified to state that this pain in my cheek was, indeed, excruciating, and not just uncomfortable,) and feeling like if I blinked I would fall asleep. The little kids (and their parents!) were tired and cranky because it’s county fair week in their community, and even my teen helper had had too much fair and her back hurt from some of the rides. (And her ankles. Apparently there’s some ride where you hang from your ankles.)

So much for what is usually the best part of my day. Then the rest of the day was horrible because a co-worker was unhappy and I had no reserves of sympathy to give her. Most of my interactions with her involve a certain amount of willing suspension of disbelief, anyway, and Friday I just wasn’t willing. Finally, work was over and I managed to drive home and went directly to bed and fell immediately sound asleep. Then my daughter, bless her, brought me a bowl of soup and some cornbread, and woke me up, and I ate it and fell right back to sleep, and slept twelve hours.

The next day it was back to work, but at the little library I love, where the worst thing was having to blow my nose so much in such a small, quiet space. I’m beyond embarrassment at this point, however.

So today I can stay at home and sit or lie down whenever I feel like it. And I’ll do laundry, and I’ll wash dishes, but no way am I getting in the car for any reason and no way am I cooking anything, since I hate cooking and I just have to draw the line somewhere, even if we all starve. It’s the principle of the thing.

Explore posts in the same categories: antibiotics, pain, sinus surgery, whining

3 Comments on “If I get well will the whining stop?”

  1. deborah Says:

    what a sweetheart your daughter is! and you know, sometimes the old standby, PBJ is a good thing. no muss, no fuss. you get your protein. whine away my friend.

    hope you feel well soon

  2. glass pineapple Says:

    Yes, my daughter is a sweetheart who doesn’t mind cooking and loves to bake. When she leaves home it will definitely be PBJs from then on.

  3. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

