Why?

Yesterday I had no pain in my head whatsoever. It’s been a long time since that happened. So I have decided that from now on, instead of wondering all the time why I have a headache or a migraine, I will just wait for pain free days and then wonder why I don’t have a headache. This will cut down my worrying/wondering time considerably. The part of my brain that does all that thinking about headaches will probably shrink down and leave some extra room for the rest of my brain to stretch out and relax. It sounds good, doesn’t it? And it’s just as likely to work as all my other headache-busting plans.

Explore posts in the same categories: headaches, migraine, wishful thinking

6 Comments on “Why?”


  1. That sounds like a great plan. I wonder and worry all the time so I definately need some shrinkage in my brain from that part!

  2. glass pineapple Says:

    And I really am trying not to worry about what’s causing the migraines, but it’s hard! As soon as I feel the pain coming on I automatically start assigning blame and criticizing myself for whatever transgression I imagine might have caused another headache. I am trying to unlearn years of behavior. I consider it yoga for my brain.


  3. You are definitely on the right track. What can be called ‘mind chatter’ is one of the leading contributors to headaches. The more we try to analyze and figure out what is happening to us, the more stress we create and pain results. I had migraines for over twenty years and now I don’t. One of the skills that helped me accomplish this was learning how to ‘Quiet the mind’. There is an article with that title at http://www.headache-mgmt.com

  4. glass pineapple Says:

    Conversely, a particularly insidious type of “mind chatter” that spins around and around in tight circles in my brain is a symptom of migraine for me. In other words, migraine causes mind chatter. So go figure.


  5. Yes, mind chatter and migraines are very closely interrelated. I would suggest that practice managing mind chatter when you don’t have a headache may be helpful in reducing the chatter when a headache is present.

  6. glass pineapple Says:

    More brain yoga.


Leave a Reply

