Miracle Drug; or: glass pineapple justifies her pernicious tea habit

In the last 24 days I have taken only two Amerge tablets. This is in contrast to the 2 or 3 tablets a week I had been taking. What has caused this sudden reduction in Amerge-popping? It’s my new miracle drug, Caffeine!

Since I don’t drink tea on a daily basis anymore, I have discovered that I can use 2 aspirin and a cup of tea the way I used to use 2 aspirin and a Coca Cola when I was young. If I take it at the beginning of a migraine, the migraine goes away. And instead of feeling zombiefied, as I do for most of the day after taking the Amerge, I feel normal. Or should I say abnormal, in the sense that I feel okay and without pain.

I have been drinking about two cups of tea a week for the last month. I only drink it if I feel a migraine coming on. The two times I took Amerge, I was in my one-person library with no access to tea.

I suppose that it won’t last. I’ll gradually have to drink more and more tea for it to be effective, and the migraines will get closer together, and then I’ll start getting rebound headaches, and remember, my doctor told me to not drink or eat any caffeine, so I’m being an uncooperative patient.

But just think! Tea is very inexpensive. I don’t need a prescription. My insurance company can’t limit how many teabags I use per month. I love the way it tastes. I don’t hate the way it makes me feel. I personally don’t think the Amerge is very good for me.

It’s working for now. That’s more than I could say about some of the drugs the doctor has prescribed. I’ll just have to wait and see what happens next.

Explore posts in the same categories: caffeine, migraine

4 Comments on “Miracle Drug; or: glass pineapple justifies her pernicious tea habit”

  1. EP Says:

    Rosemary tea works for me. Whole rosemary, just add water!

  2. glass pineapple Says:

    My mom uses thyme tea for headaches, but it never worked for me. Rosemary is worth a try.


  3. What kind of tea are you drinking? Like Lipton?

  4. glass pineapple Says:

    Yep, Lipton.


Leave a Reply

