30 days

30 days, no caffeine.

Today is day 31, and I have another headache on my left side, and it’s Sunday, and I just spent my whole Sunday walk with my friend being gloomy and negative, and we have a houseguest, and I don’t want to take an Amerge because I already had two in the last 7 days, so:

I took three aspirin and made myself a cup of tea. Black Lipton tea. And I am drinking it right now.

I think it is pretty nervy of doctors, who fill me full of useless pills with horrifying (or annoying) side effects, to tell me not to drink a cup of tea. “Here, take this drug that makes your headache worse and gives you suicidal thoughts. In a couple of months, if you live that long, it might start helping the pain. But no hot chocolate, it’s bad for you!”

I don’t smoke. I don’t drink alcohol. I eat healthy foods. Before I got the constant stabbing headache I exercised every day. I am in all ways a model citizen. So they ferret out my only vice and command me to eliminate it.

And why am I such a “model citizen?” (You could probably call it “boring citizen.”) When I was a child I noticed that second-hand smoke (even though that phrase didn’t exist then) gave me a headache, so I never started smoking. Alcohol gives me a migraine. If I eat the wrong foods or go too far between little tiny meals, I get a migraine. Exercising every day helped keep the migraines away. I truly believe that if giving up caffeine was going to help me, I would have figured that out in the last 40 years, and I would have given it up on my own.

Explore posts in the same categories: caffeine, migraine

2 Comments on “30 days”


  1. Just stumbled across your blog, and as someone with daily headaches, am quite enjoying your take on it. I am not at 44 years but at 24 years of headaches and pray for the days when I don’t have one

    Congrats on the caffine free days… well done. Just a note on “Black Tea”, unless it says Caffine free on the label, it has more caffine than coffee. Steer clear and good luck on the quest.
    Steph

  2. glass pineapple Says:

    I didn’t know any tea had more caffeine than coffee. The funny thing about coffee is that I can feel it giving me a headache, even decaf. I can occasionally get away with a cup, if I happen to be in one of those ironclad migraine-free periods where nothing touches me, but otherwise any coffee is a definite migraine trigger, whereas tea doesn’t seem to have the same effect.

    Thank you for the good wishes, the same to you.


Leave a Reply

