Results, or not

Beautiful morning, walked around the park, now I’m eating peanut butter and jelly on toast and sipping my lovely cup of hot water. I gave up on herbal teas because it is as I remembered, they make me feel sick and I can’t stand the way they taste. The forbidden camellia sinensis is the only herb for me. By the way, I think this is day 24 with no caffeine.

The Dr’s office called me at work on Friday. The office told me that the CAT scan showed that I have a …. sinus infection! No, really? The doctor was going to prescribe an antibiotic. I said I was already on an antibiotic for my sinus infection, surely the doctor didn’t mean for me to take two at once? The office became confused and said she didn’t know and the doctor had already left, or wait, maybe she was still here, hold on.

The doctor came on the line and I recognized her voice. She was the doctor I saw for my sinus on Monday, not my regular doctor who ordered the scan. She said I was lucky to catch her as she was just leaving. Poor doctor. I felt for her, I really did. She said she would phone in the antibiotic prescription but if I felt better by next Wednesday, I shouldn’t pick it up. She said she wants me to go to an ENT.

I said, what about my stabbing headache? She said maybe it is caused by your sinus. I said, what about brain tumors and aneurysms? She said it was a scan of your sinuses only. I said, yeah, why is that? Of course, she didn’t know, she didn’t order it.

I said, the other doctor ordered this scan, will she still look at it? She said she would message the other doctor.

I had this conversation while standing at the counter of the library with bored teenagers leaning on the other side staring at me and a big family with stacks of books they wanted to check out waiting patiently.

When I got home that evening I found out that the other doctor had called my house and said she would call back, but she hasn’t.

And that’s that.

Explore posts in the same categories: caffeine, CT scan, migraine

One Comment on “Results, or not”

  1. deborah Says:

    makes you wonder, doesn’t it, how wonderfully her life must run; should she have a little health flare-up? Hmmm. then again, she just gets that “priority call” now doesn’t she. Wouldn’t it be fun to be the one to put HER on hold, just for grins and giggles, that is. hypothetically speaking.


Leave a Reply

