I can’t come back, I don’t know how it works!

This is what the wizard shouts to Dorothy as he sails off in his hot air balloon, and it’s how I feel about computers, cell phones, this blog. I own them, use them, sail around in them (through cyberspace?) but it doesn’t come naturally and really simple stuff takes me forever. Also, sometimes I just forget they exist and do something else for a while.

This is why, when the electronic board at the airport showed that my daughter’s plane had arrived and yet she still hadn’t appeared on the escalator (small airport, everybody comes down the same escalator), it took me about half an hour to remember that I had a cell phone and maybe I should check it for messages. Then some more time passed as I tried to remember how to do that. There was a message, it seemed to be her voice amid a lot of crackling saying something about “forty minutes late,” but was it a current message or one from a year ago that I had never deleted because, of course, I don’t know how to delete messages?

The plane was late (board was wrong), my daughter came down the escalator and said, “Mom, didn’t you get my e-mail telling you to turn on your cell phone?” Oh, yeah, e-mail, I haven’t checked that in a while. Oh, yeah, cell phone, I guess I got it in the first place for exactly this kind of situation.

Of course I woke up with the beginnings of a migraine that day, too (yesterday), but the Amerge worked well and it gave me an excuse to drink a big cup of coffee to counteract the groggy feeling the pill gives me. Usually I avoid coffee because it is one of the few things that I can pinpoint as being a migraine trigger for me.

Explore posts in the same categories: migraine, yes I love technology

Leave a Reply

